National Junior Squad Named

by / Wednesday, 22 April 2015 / Published in JBA News
The Jamaica Badminton Association has named the 2015 National Junior Squad. The juniors named to the squad have been earmarked for development for the upcoming Pan Am Junior Badminton Championships in Tijuana, Mexico, August 2-9, and the Caribbean Regional Badminton Confederation Championships,August 27-30 .


The juniors named in the U19 category are Shane Wilson, Kenneth Anglin, Sean Wilson, Matthew Lee, Nicardo Reid, Esther Reynolds, Christina Petri and Iesha Gordon. In the U17 category are Shane Wilson, Joel Angus, Oshane Newland, Alana Bailey, Taina Daley and Shantae Smith. Rhys Reid, Adam Taylor, Shezelle McTyson and Talia Richardson have been selected for the U15 squad while Zane Reid, Tijae Hinds, Romaine Cole, Emily Reynolds, Jade Ranger are the players in the U13 squad. The U11 squad members are Rihanna Rust, Carleeta Wilkins, Keyondre McBean, Andre Brown and Aundrae Stewart. The squad will begin training later this week under the guidance of Technical Director, Howard Ranger and coaches Neil Lewis and Alya Lewis. Final selection for the teams to the 2 major events in August will be made in June.


It is hoped that Jamaica will have an even better showing this year. Last year at CAREBACO 2014 championships held in Kingston, Jamaica, the junior team secured 20 gold medals while in the more prestigious Pan Am junior badminton championships, Sean Wilson and Samuel Ricketts brought home gold in the U19 Boys Doubles. Ricketts was the silver medallist in the U19 Boys’ Singles Event. U17 pair of Shane Wilson and Alana Bailey brought home bronze in the Mixed Doubles Event.


2014 Gold medallist, Sean Wilson, says he is looking forward to defending his doubles title with his brother, Shane, this year. ” I am also looking forward to competing in the Boys Singles U19 event and would like to be the first Jamaican to win the gold in that event.”

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.